LA's, PAs and Power of Attorney and option 1

Why are Local Authorities refusing to allow someone (me!) to become PAs under option 1 unless they resign their power of attorney? There is a second PoA who runs the finances and contracts, there is no conflict of interest but the LA (Angus) has a blanket ban in place and will not lift it despite the wishes of the supported person (my Mum, 83). Under the Statutory Guidance I am allowed to become her PA. I am her chosen carer, I am a professional carer, I hold a PVG, I live next door! The local authority just will not budge. How do they get away with this and how do I get them to follow the guidance.

Hi @Karl, I’m sure there will be people on this forum with experience to share on PoA issues, but just to give you a heads up that SDS Scotland are running an online training session on this topic on 8th August (11am-1pm), if you are able to attend it:

Training: Guardianship, Power of Attorney and the employment of family members as PAs - Self Directed Support Scotland (sdsscotland.org.uk)

1 Like

Interesting but too late for me! I am being forced to resign my powers
or Angus Council will continue to withhold care for my mother.

Karl

Sorry to hear that you are in this position, Karl.

As you say, the updated SDS Act guidance states that: “While local authority systems of supervision must comply with the Regulations and be sensitive to potential conflicts of interest, these must not have the effect of imposing a blanket ban that forces supported people to choose between the role of Personal Assistant and holder of Power of Attorney in situations where that power is not currently being used to sign contracts or where a contract can be managed by a third party.” Social Care (Self-directed Support) (Scotland) Act 2013: statutory guidance - gov.scot (www.gov.scot)