SDS & 'No Recourse to Public Funds'

We received a query regarding a parent carer who has come to Scotland and has ‘NRPF’ on their passport, asking if they could access SDS. We have been advised by the local H&SCP that SDS can be used in this circumstance, that they would follow the same assessment process and if there was an identified need SDS would be an option, although they would not permit an Option 1 and the reason for that is that someone’s immigration status can change at any time and therefore they do not think it would not be an ideal situation to become an employer. We would be interested to learn if anyone has had a similar experience and has perhaps more advice to offer. Many thanks

1 Like

Option 1 doesn’t entail becoming an employer

Thanks for posting this. I have no experience of this issue, I’m afraid, and have no idea if there is legislation/guidance that allows a HSCP not to issue a direct payment if it can be demonstrated that it is in the best interests of the person receiving social care to meet their outcomes, but the updated SDS Guidance has this:

People with No Recourse to Public Funds (NRPF) can access social services. It is a common
misunderstanding that people with NRPF status are restricted from accessing all public funds
and services, as UK Government’s NRPF policy restricts access only to some public funds under
immigration rules. Further information about our approach to supporting people who are subject
to NRPF to access support and services can be found in the Ending Destitution Together strategy,
jointly published by Scottish Government and COSLA in March 2021 at Supporting documents - Ending destitution together: strategy - gov.scot. In addition, good practice for social workers or other practitioners relating to the rights of migrant adults and children can be found at this website: https://migrationscotland.org.uk/migrants-rights-and-entitlements/social-services-support-introduction/.