What are the pros and cons of Direct Payments for personal care?

My husband in his 60s has dementia and Parkinson’s and has just been assessed for SDS in Edinburgh, with three elements being proposed - personal care for him, day services for him, and respite care. I have opted for Direct Payments in lieu of day services and respite, but I have to decide whether to take Direct Payments for the personal care element and organise carers myself, or ask Health and Social Care to provide carers. I am completely new to all of this and am looking for advice/other people’s experience. My instinct is to opt for DPs for the whole package, so that we can control/organise everything ourselves, but are there disadvantages to being in charge of organising his personal carers directly? Are they easily sourced? Are they more expensive? My husband needs assistance in the mornings with washing, dressing etc but does not need a personal assistant. Any insights into this topic would be most welcome, thank you.

1 Like

If you would like to email me I can speak from my experiences I have been receiving DP for 22years on behalf of my daughter. I got experience employing an agency and also our own support staff by advertising.
We have option 1 SDS
My email is: support_work@hotmail.com
Suzanne

Hi Claire

A direct payment certainly gives you more choice and control over your husband’s care needs. It needn’t be daunting as there is help out there to support those who opt for a DP. You get to decide what the PA does and when this gets done.
Finding a good, reliable PA can be a challenge but it is a growing workforce and again you can get help with this, your social worker should be able to suggest options for you.